Antique Roadshow

Do you remember the show “Antique Roadshow?”  If you’re not familiar, the show revolved around people bringing their old junk to an antique dealer that traveled the country.  Most of the time, the items that were showcased held more sentimental value than they did monetary value.  In the end, the individual was just glad to get the item appraised to see it’s actual worth.  I have a lot of things I’ve kept over the years due to sentimental reasons: a few old stuffed animals from my youth, baseball cards, and old console video games.

Recently, two important people in my life hit me with some real truth.  That an idea I had would have a major impact and that I didn’t really understand the value of what I had.  As many of you know, a week ago I launched a daily devotional for my high school students on iTunes.  I just wanted my students to have God’s word to them on a regular basis and to have an opportunity to pray for them daily.  It was meant for them.

After 8 days, we’ve had over 120 downloads including downloads from California, Colorado, Michigan, North Carolina, Missouri, New Jersey and West Virginia.  I’ve heard stories of families listening on the way to school…adults listening as they drink their morning coffee.  It’s remarkable what God is doing with this idea after a little over a week.

It’s not that I think this podcast is “junk” by any means, but didn’t think much of it.  I didn’t see its potential and I didn’t see its true value.  I’ve poured more time, money, blood, sweat and tears into other projects that have fallen flat and never amounted to anything.

Remember the feeding of the 5,000?  We often focus on Jesus or the miracle that happened.  We often forget about the boy who provided the five loaves and the two fish.  He happily offered up his lunch, knowing that it would only be “a drop in the ocean” of need.  He did it anyway knowing that if he could help one person, it could make a difference.  In the end, he helped far more.

What are your five loaves and two fish?  Maybe you have an idea that you’ve been sitting on for a while.  Maybe you’ve been hesitant to pull the trigger on it.  Maybe you don’t think it’s worth anything.  Let God decide that.  Put it in His hands and let Him go to work.  I know that I sat on my hands with this devotional for a year!  I deeply regret that now.  But I’ve since given it to God and now I sit back and watch Him do His thing.

-Jeff

Leave a Reply

